Skip to content

MechE Resources | MechE Subjects | MIT Home

Yang Shao-Horn

Yang Shao-Horn

W.M. Keck Professor of Energy
Electrochemical Energy Laboratory, 31-056

Room 3-334
Massachusetts Institute of Technology
77 Massachusetts Avenue
Cambridge MA 02139-4307
Phone: 617-253-2259  
Fax: 617-258-7018  

Curriculum Vitae

Administrative Contact:
Marjorie A. Joss
Room 3-144
Phone: 617-452-2781  

Research Contact:

Abby Reynolds

Room 3-337

Phone: 617-253-7449 


Research Interests

Electrochemical Energy Conversion and Storage Technologies

Photoelectrocatalysis of O2 and CO2

Nanostructured Materials for Lithium Storage


Teaching Interests

Electrochemical Systems: Fundamentals, Materials and Applications 2.625/10.625

Fundamentals of Advanced Energy Conversion 2.60/2.62j, 10.392j, 22.40j
Mechanics and Materials II 2.002

Thermal Fluids Engineering 2.005

1992, B.S., Beijing University of Technology
1998, Ph.D., Michigan Technological University

Positions Held

Staff Materials Engineer, Eveready Battery Company, Westlake, Ohio (1998-2000)

Select Peer Reviewed Publications

Lu, Y.-C., E.J. Crumlin, G.M. Veith, J.R. Harding, E. Mutoro, L. Baggetto, N.J. Dudney, Z. Liu and Y. Shao-Horn In Situ Ambient Pressure X-ray Photoelectron Spectroscopy Studies of Lithium-Oxygen Redox ReactionsScientific Reports 2 article #715 October 2012

Lopez, N. , D.J. Graham, R. McGuire, Jr., G.E. Alliger, Y. Shao-Horn, C.C. Cummins and D.G. Nocera, Reversible Reduction of Oxygen to Peroxide Facilitated by Molecular RecognitionScience 335 (6067) 450 - 453 January 2012

Suntivich, J., K. J. May, J. B. Goodenough, H. A. Gasteiger and Y. Shao-Horn, A perovskite oxide optimized for oxygen evolution catalysis from molecular orbital principles Science 334(6061) 1383-1385 (December 2011)

Suntivich, J., H.A. Gasteiger, N. Yabuuchi, H. Nakanishi, J. B. Goodenough, Y. Shao-Horn, Design principles for oxygen-reduction activity on perovskite oxide catalysts for fuel cells and metal–air batteriesNature Chemistry, 3 (7), 546–550 July 2011

Lee, S.W., N. Yabuuchi, G.M. Gallant, S. Chen, B.S. Kim, P.T. Hammond and Y. Shao-Horn, High-power lithium batteries from functionalized carbon nanotube electrodes, Nature Nanotechnology, 5 (7), 531–537 (July 2010)

A complete list of peer reviewed publications can be found at


Honors and Awards

2013, Research Award from the International Battery Association
2011, Gail E. Kendall Chair of Mechanical Engineering

2008, Tajima Prize of the International Society of Electrochemistry

2008, Charles W. Tobias Young Investigator Award of The Electrochemical Society


Select Professional Activities and Service

Energy and Environmental Science, Advisory Board (2011-)

ChemElectroChem, Advisory Board (2012-)

Journal of Physical Chemistry, Advisory Board (2014-)

back to top

MITMassachusetts Institute of Technology Department of Mechanical Engineering, 77 Massachusetts Avenue, Room 3-173, Cambridge MA 02139