close menu
Anuradha Annaswamy

Contact Info

room 3-348

Massachusetts Institute of Technology

77 Massachusetts Avenue

Cambridge, Massachusetts 02139


  • 1979


  • 1985



Research Interests

  • Adaptive control theory and applications
  • Smart Grids: Electricity Markets and Control, Resiliency to cyberattacks
  • Smart Distribution Grids: Integration with storage and edge intelligence, distributed optimization, distribution markets, and resilience
  • Wide-area measurement systems: Delay-aware control and continuous modeling based control
  • Cyber-secure flight control: Modeling, adaptation, and robustness


Dr. Anuradha Annaswamy received her Ph.D. in Electrical Engineering from Yale University in 1985.  She has been a member of the faculty at Yale, Boston University, and MIT where currently she is the director of the Active-Adaptive Control Laboratory and a Senior Research Scientist in the Department of Mechanical Engineering.  Her research interests pertain to adaptive control theory and applications to aerospace, automotive, and propulsion systems, cyber physical systems science, and CPS applications to Smart Grids, Smart Cities, and Smart Infrastructures. She is the author of a hundred journal publications and numerous conference publications, co-author of a graduate textbook on adaptive control (2004),  co-editor of several  reports including “Systems & Control for the future of humanity, research agenda: Current and future roles, impact and grand challenges,” (Elsevier) “IEEE Vision for Smart Grid Control: 2030 and Beyond,” (IEEE Xplore) and Impact of Control Technology, (,

Dr. Annaswamy has received several awards including the George Axelby and Control Systems Magazine best paper awards from the IEEE Control Systems Society (CSS), the Presidential Young Investigator award from NSF, the Hans Fisher Senior Fellowship from the Institute for Advanced Study at the Technische Universität München, the Donald Groen Julius Prize from the Institute of Mechanical Engineers, a Distinguished Member Award, and a Distinguished Lecturer Award from IEEE CSS. Dr. Annaswamy is a Fellow of the IEEE and IFAC. She has served as the Vice President for Conference Activities (2014-15), and is currently serving as the VP for Technical Activities (2017-18) in the Executive Committee of the IEEE CSS. 

Honors + Awards

  • 2017 Fellow, International Federation of Automatic Control
  • 2017 Distinguished Lecturer, IEEE Control Systems Society
  • 2016 Distinguished Member, IEEE Control Systems Society
  • 2010 Best Paper Award, IEEE Control Systems Magazine
  • 2008 Donald Groen Julius Prize, Institute of Mechanical Engineers
  • 2008 Hans Fischer Fellow, Technische Universitat Munchen-Institute for Advanced Studies
  • 2002 IEEE Fellow        
  • 1988 George Axelby best paper award, IEEE Trans. Autom. Control


  • IEEE Fellow
  • AIAA Member

Professional Service

  • 2017-18, IEEE Fellows Committee
  • 2017-18, Vice President, Technical Activities, IEEE Control Systems Society (CSS)
  • 2016-present, Deputy Editor, Annual Reviews in Control, Elsevier.
  • 2014-2015, Vice President, Conference Activities, IEEE CSS
  • 2010-2013 Elected member, Board of Governors, IEEE CSS
  • 2008 General Chair, American Control Conference
  • 2011-13 Lead editor, Vision for Smart Grid Control: 2030 and Beyond,” IEEE Standards Publication
  • 2014 Co-editor, Impact of Control Technology (2nd Edition; with Tariq Samad)

MIT Service

  • 2011-present Department Graduate Admissions Committee


  • 2.153 Adaptive Control