Four MIT faculty elected to the National Academy of Engineering for 2018

Four MIT faculty are among the 83 new members and 16 foreign associates elected to the National Academy of Engineering.

Election to the National Academy of Engineering is among the highest professional distinctions accorded to an engineer. Academy membership honors those who have made outstanding contributions to "engineering research, practice, or education, including, where appropriate, significant contributions to the engineering literature," and to "the pioneering of new and developing fields of technology, making major advancements in traditional fields of engineering, or developing/implementing innovative approaches to engineering education.”

The four elected this year include:

Lallit Anand, the Warren and Towneley Rohsenow Professor of Mechanical Engineering, for contributions to the development of plasticity for engineering technology, involving theory, experiment, and computation.

Angela Belcher, the James Mason Crafts Professor of Biological Engineering and Materials Science and Engineering, for development of novel genetic evolution methods for the generation of new materials and devices.

Stephen Graves, the Abraham J. Siegel Professor of Management Science and a professor of engineering systems and mechanical engineering in the Sloan School of Management, for contributions to the modeling and analysis of manufacturing systems and supply chains.

Yang Shao-Horn, the Keck Professor of Energy, from the Department of Mechanical Engineering and Department of Materials Science and Engineering, for contributions to design principles for catalytic activity for oxygen electrocatalysis for electrochemical energy storage for clean energy.

“My warm congratulations to the four members of our faculty inducted into the National Academy of Engineering for their outstanding contributions as leaders in their fields,” says Anantha Chandrakasan, the dean of the MIT School of Engineering and the Vannevar Bush Professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science. “It is wonderful to see the contributions of our engineering faculty recognized at such a high level.”

Including this year’s inductees, 146 current MIT faculty and staff are members of the National Academy of Engineering.