School of Engineering awards for 2017

The School of Engineering recently honored outstanding faculty, undergraduates, and graduate students, with the following awards: 

  • Lorna Gibson, the Matoula S. Salapatas Professor of Materials Science and Engineering and a professor of mechanical engineering, won the Bose Award for Excellence in Teaching, given to a faculty member whose contributions have been characterized by dedication, care, and creativity.
  • Amos Winter, an associate professor of mechanical engineering, won the Junior Bose Award for being an outstanding contributor to education among the junior faculty of the School of Engineering.

The Ruth and Joel Spira Awards for Excellence in Teaching are awarded to one faculty member in each of three departments: Electrical Engineering and Computer Science (EECS), Mechanical Engineering (MechE), and Nuclear Science and Engineering (NSE). The awards acknowledge “the tradition of high-quality engineering education at MIT.” A fourth award rotates among the School of Engineering’s five other academic departments.

This year's winners are:

  • John Hart, an associate professor of mechanical engineering;
  • Patrick Jaillet, the Dugald C. Jackson Professor in Electrical Engineering;
  • R. Scott Kemp, the Norman C. Rasmussen Career Development Professor of Nuclear Science and Engineering; and
  • Nir Shavit, a professor of electrical engineering and computer science.

Mary Elizabeth Wagner, a graduate student in materials science and engineering, won the School of Engineering Graduate Student Award for Extraordinary Teaching and Mentoring, established in 2006 to recognize an engineering graduate student who has demonstrated extraordinary teaching and mentoring as a teaching or research assistant.

Alexander H. Slocum, the Pappalardo Professor of Mechanical Engineering, won the Capers and Marion McDonald Award for Excellence in Mentoring and Advising, given to a faculty member who has demonstrated a lasting commitment to personal and professional development.

Hannah Diehl of the Department of Physics and Bryce Hwang of EECS were awarded the Barry M. Goldwater Scholarship, given to students who exhibit an outstanding potential and intend to pursue careers in mathematics, the natural sciences, or engineering disciplines that contribute significantly to technological advances in the United States.

Arinze C. Okeke, a biological engineering major, won the Henry Ford II Award, presented to a senior engineering student who has maintained a cumulative GPA average of 5.0 at the end of their seventh term and who has exceptional potential for leadership in the profession of engineering and in society.

John Ochsendorf, the Class of 1942 Professor of Architecture and a professor of civil and environmental engineering, won the Samuel M. Seegal Prize, awarded for excellence in teaching to a faculty member (or members) in the Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering and/or the MIT Sloan School of Management who inspires students in pursuing and achieving excellence.